Lost and Found

Per BU’s First Post, this is my introduction, my hello and, man, did I get stuck. So, I decided to answer the suggested questions. And very, very honestly. Eek.

Why are you blogging publicly instead of keeping a diary?

Love this question. Writing is cathartic for me, and typically, I have some sort of technology in my hand or nearby at any given moment, so an online blog seemed simple enough. But I have never been good at maintaining a diary. I have, however, always been very good at isolating myself. So while I reconnect with me, blogging publicly is an experiment in making myself vulnerable.

What topics do you think you’ll write about?

The life that happens after the wedding happens, both good and bad. The way I saw things then, the way I see them now. Lightning up, having a laugh, my mental escapades, and the tears that sometimes follow. Fun, right now, is important for me to seek out. I tend to write with bit of personification and fiction because I express myself better in those ways. I think.

Who would you love to connect with via your blog?

Um…myself, mostly. Not the PC answer, right? I am intentionally being very selfish and self centered with this blog. I’ve been holding many peoples hands for a long time now and putting my needs on the back burner. I was on that burner so long, it charred my insides. They probably taste better than blackened chicken right now. That’s ok, I’m not close to the first or last. I’m just looking over my shoulder wondering where the time went and what just happened. Where did I go?

I wish I could say my goal was something profound like saving humanity, world peace, putting a little good back into the universe, but I’m not a doctor, a teacher or a wizard. I’m not a guru in helping and healing. Hell, I was a terrible yoga instructor. It would be arrogant to claim I possess wisdom and insight of an expert. If you’ve searched “HELP”, “SOS”, or “AAAAAH” like me, then maybe I can give you a laugh, but, I’m also not a comedian. I am, however, hospitable, and second to connecting with myself,  I hope to connect with everyone who takes the time to read my nonsense. Welcome. It is so nice to have you.

If you blog successfully throughout the next year, what do you hope to accomplish?

Hide and Seek Champion 2017 (see above). Seriously though, success manifests itself in different ways for everyone – money, followers, awards. Those are great, but are not my goals this next year. My success will be in being consistent and finding courage, while easing the pressure I put on myself. Balance. Consistency looks like blogging literally everyday. Easing the pressure looks like taking a break if I’m sick (extremely sick) or all technology is broken. I need to find the courage to make myself known. It seems easier to do this with strangers, rather than my loved ones.  Currently, my name is not involved, my personal social media is not involved, and there are no photos of me. So what will opening up beyond story telling look like?

 

Leave a Reply

